Haigo Virginie Gimeno Operations Management

Virginie Gimeno

Operations Manager

NB: This bio was written by Joanna

We brought Virginie on board for a web publishing project in the spring of 2017. It was a match, so we invited her back to work on an additional project, and then another, and finally we offered her the position of Operations Manager! That’s what we like to call an agile recruitment process, following several iterations, always aiming for continuous improvement 🙂
The Operations Manager’s role is all about supporting Haigos and Haibros, and that’s exactly what Virginie was looking for in her new working environment: a human-centered role and a team where she could really feel at home. She spent five years studying architecture, before going on to work in the Paris food tech scene, and notes that her work has always been about the people she’s met. Her lecturers, the chefs she worked with, and her study buddies have all shaped her ideas more than anything else. What’s very Haigo about Virginie is how she’s partly self-taught, and is the sum of several previous lives … (on this topic see also: Guewen, Maïlys, Felipe).
Life’s too short, isn’t it? In another life, Virginie would have been a pediatrician or a rock singer or CEO of her own company (there’s still time!). Fortunately, Operations Manager is a bit like that – there’s always new concepts to develop and new ways of doing things. This is ideal for someone like Virginie who is a bit of a school prefect and class rep character. Without being an all-out revolutionary, she’s always been a strong defender of her own ideas, and especially those of others.
At Haigo, we talk a lot about design thinking but especially “design doing”, and it’s easy to understand why Virginie and Haigo work together. As Virginie says herself: “I’m in a building phase. I want to build things everywhere: furniture, bookcases, shelves … in essence design things for different spaces. Right now, I also want to knit, to create, to concoct different designs for all sorts of things.”
Anything Haigo can learn from her past as an architect? “Architects are very incompetent at project management in a business setting. They should work more like Haigo and try to better understand user needs and experiences. They need to stop thinking for other people and listen more.”

Haigo Virginie Gimeno Operations Management

Virginie Gimeno

Operations Manager

NB : Cette biographie a été écrite par Joanna

Virginie est venue nous aider sur une petite mission de publishing au printemps de 2017, et, comme le courant est passé, nous l’avons fait revenir une première, puis une deuxième fois, pour finir par lui proposer le poste de Operations Manager ! On appelle ça un recrutement en agile, sous plusieurs itérations, pour tendre continuellement vers la perfection.

Le rôle d’Operations Manager est au plus près des Haigos et Haibros, et c’est justement ce que Virginie cherchait dans son nouvel environnement de travail : une préoccupation autour de l’humain et une équipe de travail où elle peut s’épanouir. Ses chemins sont complètement orientés par les gens qui l’entourent ; ses cinq années d’études en architecture et sa carrière dans la gastronomie étaient pour elle des rencontres : avec ses profs, avec ses équipes de travail, et avec ses recherches personnelles. Le fait d’être (au moins en partie) autodidacte et d’avoir vécu mille vies est une caractéristique que l’on trouve souvent chez Haigo (voir aussi : Guewen, Maïlys, Felipe).

« La vie est trop courte » s’exclame Virginie, et dans une vie idéale elle sera pédiatre, puis chanteuse de rock, puis chef d’entreprise. Heureusement, Operations Manager, c’est un peu ça … il y a constamment des idées à développer pour quelqu’un comme Virginie qui a été déléguée de classe; elle a toujours aimé défendre les idées des gens (sans être carrément une révolutionnaire).

Chez Haigo on parle de design thinking mais surtout de design doing, et on comprend pourquoi Virginie et Haigo font un bon ménage : « Je suis dans une phase de construction. J’ai très envie de construire des choses, des meubles, des étagères ; penser des choses pour des espaces. En ce moment j’ai très envie de faire du tricot, de la créa et de la conception pour tout. »

Une astuce pour Haigo récoltée de son passé d’architecte ? « Les archis sont à côté de la plaque pour mener le projet en entreprise. Ils ont besoin de travailler comme Haigo et aller mieux comprendre les usages des gens. Il faut arrêter de penser à la places des autres. »